New Tastes
Twelve New Graduates

10th Nov - 29th Jan 2017

'Watertower' series of vessels in copper with resin embedded with iron oxide

'Watertower' series of vessels in copper with resin embedded with iron oxide




About Us

Find us on Facebook Twitter Instagram Twitter Pinterest Instagram Pinterest

Felicity Lynden

Working as a silversmith, using a combination of silver, non-precious metals and plastics, I create sculptural pieces that draw inspiration from places that have fallen into a state of disrepair.
In the main I have focused on the ruins of Cammo Estate, once a grand piece of Scottish architecture, years of neglect have left little to its structure but the outside walls.  I specifically explore the textures and remaining forms that are created from the structure’s relentless battle with the elements, which slowly carve and sculpt what remains. The direct translation of these textures through the process of etching echoes the natural process of weathering, which creates an archeological feel to my work.
Encasing fragments of transient objects suggestive of decay in resin, transforms them into something more permanent, capturing that moment of time.
The buildings that I explore are fundamentally containers of objects and people. Over time people will attribute memories and emotional attachment to these places. My work encourages users to store objects within them. The use of precious metals suggests value within my work in the hope that the user stores objects precious to them within it. I also hope this encourages the user to create tradition of handing the piece down enabling the piece to gain its own sentimental worth.

Biographical Details

New Tastes introduces twelve new jewellery graduates: Wanshu Li, Edinburgh College of Art; Hayley Brooks, Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design, Dundee; Chen Cheng, Birmingham School of Jewellery; Rob Anderson, Sheffield Hallam University; Sheng Zhang, Birmingham School of Jewellery; Darcey Skelly, National College of Art and Design, Dublin; Francesca Lobb, Manchester School of Art; Felicity Lynden, University of Edinburgh; Freya Alder, Glasgow School of Art; Stephanie O Leary, Middlesex University, London; Michaela Murrain, De Montfort University, Leicester; Amanda Denison, Winchester School of Art.